For the Love of “Rent”

Got to start somewhere so this may as well be it. I finally got to see this live last year, a fairly small amateur production but totally worth going to see. Look forward to seeing the movies of Into The Woods and The Last 5 Year coming later this year, and maybe another live show at some point as well.

Longreads

I had never seen anything like it. Its music was gorgeous, its spectacle captivating. But then there was the scandal of it to my 12-year-old self. I’d never heard something as horrifying as having your ex-girlfriend break the news that you both have HIV and slitting her wrists in the bathroom. I’d never heard someone say the words “dildos” or “masturbation” or “marijuana” or “erection” or “faggots lezzies dykes cross-dressers too.” I’d never seen a depiction of a romance between a gay man and a drag queen, let alone one so beautiful it made me weep. Most importantly, it depicted what to me was a fantasy as attractive as any I’d ever seen: that you could be in your twenties, living in New York City, surrounded not by the family you’d left behind but by the ones you’d made. That you could pursue above all else art and love. At…

View original post 324 more words

Leave a Reply

